Wednesday, August 17, 2011
Colonoscopy..???
You're in luck. I can tell you all about it because I've had it done when I was 16. The day before you get it done you aren't allowed to eat anything, except jello or soup broth and you cant drink any liquids unless they're clear. You have to drink this stuff that is very salty and very gross and it may make you sick because it made me sick. You also have to take laxatives. You'll be in the bathroom all night and into the next morning with diarrhea. The day of the colonoscopy really isn't that bad. The night before is actually worse. I was put under for mine, I'm not sure what your dr. will do though. You'll have to get an iv and take off all of your clothes and put on a hospital gown. The nurses will make you comfortable until it's your turn. All I remember was being wheeled down a hall and everything got blurry. A little while later I woke up in a chair kind of thing next to my mom. I was kind of out of it at the time. After everything was all said and done the only thing that was bothersome was my stomach. It felt like I had a ton of trapped gas. During a colonoscopy they pump air into your colon which makes you feel bloated and crampy afterwards. This may sound a little gross but you'll probably p a lot of gas afterwards. As soon as I got home from the procedure I quickly went to sleep and when I woke up I was fine. You really have nothing to worry about, it's a pretty easy, fast procedure. I hope I've been helpful. Good luck!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment